Alberta Provincial Trapshooting Association

July was a busy month for Alberta Trap shooters.  We had a good contingent of 27 Alberta shooters in Brandon for the Canadian and brought back several category events but could not budge Pat Lamont from any championship trophies!  The Stampede Grand in Calgary was also a success with numbers up from previous years.

Edmonton Gun club hosted our Western Zone shoot Edmonton July 16-19, weather was not kind, but participation was up significantly over the full shoot and shooters enjoyed a well hosted event.  Alberta did take 6 trophies out of the zone, with Bert Brumwell dominating the chair category and taking 5 of the top chair placements.

As I write, Alberta just concluded another successful Provincial Championship at the Calgary firearms centre. Detail will be provided in the upcoming shoot report in T and F, but highlights included Jim Thomson hanging on for a Singles Championship after shooting a 3 on his first post, Bruce Mckenna winning Doubles championship with 99 after a 14 year absence from trapshooting, Gary Tebb taking Handicap with a 99 and a 4 bird lead on the field, the youngest winner of the Alberta HAA, 15 year old Trey Dyck with a 383, and perennial HOA winner Neil Burbidge again taking home the overall with 963.

While sunshine prevailed, weather variations were extreme with shooters experiencing everything from thunderstorms to gale force winds over 5 days of shooting. 
Again, Lee Ann and Bill Martins 2014 generous contribution to the APTA allowed the added money and Gold coin prize to be a big draw for this shoot.  Thanks again Lee Ann and Bill!

A highlight of the AGM was the induction of Neil Burbidge into the Alberta Trapshooting Hall of Fame.  Neil is Alberta’s most accomplished shooter of the last 3 decades and no one is more deserving of the honor. Harold Schwandt was master of ceremonies and with his usual eloquence provided a detailed and emotional background to the induction.  Mat and Nelson Burbidge, Neil’s sons and both former trapshooters, on behalf of the Burbidge family dedicated a new permanent award to APTA, the Captains Trophy, which will be presented annually to the captain of the First Alberta All Star Team.

At the AGM, the current APTA directors where confirmed and Jack Broadfoot and Shane Vaughn joined the board as APTA directors.  I was re elected as ATA delegate, with Bob Gruszecki as first alternate and Jim Thomson as second alternate.  Shane Vaughan continues as CTA delegate.

The AHEIA Calgary Firearms centre did a wonderful job of hosting, which included a Bayer CropScience sponsored pig roast, which was enjoyed by all.  The 10 new pat traps worked well and reduced target breakage considerably. 

A special thank you to the U.S. visitors making the long trek north, and to the Saskatchewan and B.C. shooters who all helped make the program successful.
The Alberta Provincial will be in Edmonton next year, so mark your calendars and head on back in 2016!
I am now headed for Sparta and the Grand American, should be fun and hope to see you there!

Have a look at ""  for all the latest in Alberta trapshooting, in the meantime if there is information to be shared, get hold of me at

ata delegate

Garry Hill

july 2015 alberta trap & field report 

​Alberta trapshooting activities and accomplishments